Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Telegraph Quartet – Robert Sirota World Premiere at Carnegie Hall

February 6, 2018 @ 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm

| $10

Telegraph Quartet, described as “powerfully adept… with a combination of brilliance and subtlety” (San Francisco Chronicle), performs the world premiere of composer Robert Sirota’s third string quartet, Wave Upon Wave, commissioned The Walter W. Naumburg Foundation for the Telegraph Quartet, who are winners of the 2016 Naumburg Competition. The concert will also include Kirchner’s String Quartet No. 1 and Schoenberg’s String Quartet No. 1 in D Minor, Op. 7.

Wave Upon Wave is the third string quartet in a trilogy spanning fifteen years. Sirota says, “Each of the string quartets in my trilogy is in essence a long journal entry reflecting a response to our times. Now, given the uncertainty of this moment in our history, rife with threats of tyranny, environmental catastrophe, and the human potential for evil, I find myself turning inward to examine the topography of the human heart: our vast potential for creative energy, idealism and altruism. Wave Upon Wave is about our fears, our hopes, and our prayers that we will triumph over the forces of darkness which threaten to overwhelm us.”


February 6, 2018
7:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Event Category:
Event Tags:


Weill Recital Hall at Carnegie Hall
57th Street at 7th Avenue
New York, New York 10019

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *