Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

ACO performs Philip Glass, Bryce Dessner, Pauchi Sasaki at Carnegie

November 8, 2017 @ 7:30 pm - 9:30 pm

| $41 - $51.

American Composers Orchestra (ACO) presents Reflected in Glass: Philip Glass and the Next Generation. Glass’ Violin Concerto No. 2, “The American Four Seasons,” featuring violinist Tim Fain, is paired with two composers Glass has mentored and inspired – Bryce Dessner and Pauchi Sasaki. Dessner’s Reponse Lutoslawski, which receives its New York premiere in this performance, is the creative fruit of his study of Lutoslawski’s string orchestra piece Musique funebre. Pauchi Sasaki’s GAMA XVI, co-commissioned by ACO and Carnegie Hall, features the composer as electronics soloist, wearing and performing an original Speaker Dress made from 100 speakers.

The performance ends with a rare behind-the-scenes conversation between Glass and Sasaki, whose collaboration was formally supported by the Rolex Mentor and Protege Arts Initiative. Moderated by Provost and Dean of The Juilliard School Ara Guzelimian, they will discuss their close working relationship and the mentorship experience. Glass and Sasaki’s work with American Composers Orchestra this season is made possible by the Rolex Institute.


November 8, 2017
7:30 pm - 9:30 pm
$41 - $51.
Event Category:
Event Tags:


Carnegie Hall’s Zankel Hall
881 7th Ave
New York, NY 10019 United States

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *