Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

@Macaulay Author Series Featuring Gretchen Rubin and Anne Kreamer

May 11 @ 7:00 pm - 9:30 pm

RubinKreamer-photo

@Macaulay Authors Series will be hosting our final event for the Spring 2015 season with Gretchen Rubin, best-selling author of the Happiness Project and author of Better Than Before: Mastering the Habits of Our Everyday Lives, and Anne Kreamer, whose latest work is Risk/Reward: Why Intelligent Leaps and Daring Choices Are The Best Career Moves You Can Make. Join us for lively discussion, a book signing and an informal reception on May 11th, 2015 at 7pm at the Macaulay Honors College at 35 West 67th St. between Central Park West and Columbus Avenue. This event is free and open to the public! RSVP HERE.

ABOUT THE BOOKS:
Award-winning author Gretchen Rubin is back with a bang, with The Happiness Project. The author of the bestselling 40 Ways to Look at Winston Churchill has produced a work that is “a cross between the Dalai Lama’s The Art of Happiness and Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love.” (Sonya Lyubomirsky, author of The How of Happiness: A Scientific Approach to Getting the Life You Want) In the vein of Julie and Julia, The Happiness Project describes one person’s year-long attempt to discover what leads to true contentment. Drawing at once on cutting-edge science, classical philosophy, and real-world applicability, Rubin has written an engaging, eminently relatable chronicle of transformation. (Amazon)

The author of the blockbuster New York Times bestsellers, The Happiness Project and Happier at Home, tackles the critical question: How do we change? Gretchen Rubin's answer: through habits. Habits are the invisible architecture of everyday life. It takes work to make a habit, but once that habit is set, we can harness the energy of habits to build happier, stronger, more productive lives. So if habits are a key to change, then what we really need to know is: How do we change our habits? Better than Before answers that question. It presents a practical, concrete framework to allow readers to understand their habits—and to change them for good. Infused with Rubin’s compelling voice, rigorous research, and easy humor, and packed with vivid stories of lives transformed, Better than Before explains the (sometimes counter-intuitive) core principles of habit formation. (Amazon)
Anne Kreamer makes the compelling case that embracing risk is one of the best career choices a person can make. Timely and insightful, Risk/Reward: Why Intelligent Leaps and Daring Choices Are The Best Career Moves You Can Make is a unique blend of original research and practical wisdom that even the most risk-averse person can harness to realize success. (Amazon)

ABOUT THE @MACAULAY AUTHOR SERIES: The @Macaulay Author Series hosts acclaimed authors and interviewers together in conversation about interesting new books. Sponsored by Friends of Macaulay.

Details

Date:
May 11
Time:
7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Event Category:

Venue

Macaulay Honors College
35 West 67th St.
New York, New York 10023